You are here

Way Back When

May 15, 1953
Mr. and Mrs. R A Jones were delightfully surprised with a lovely party Saturday night at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Larry Roffe. A group of friends including Mr. and Mrs. Harry Cochran, Mr. and Mrs. H A Browning, Mr. and Mrs. Russell Smith, Mr. and Mrs. E A Aiken, Mr. and Mrs. J R Collins and Mrs. Ethel Walker gathered for a buffet dinner to celebrate the Jones’ 25th wedding anniversary. Morrels Grade A sliced bacon, 49 cents a pound; Ballards oven ready biscuits, 10 cents; tender T-bone steak, 59 cents a pound; tender club steak, 37 cents a pound; large box of tide, 25 cents; Hershey’s granulated sugar five pound package, 29 cents. Taking part in Operation Seajump, a large scale amphibious training exercise off the coast of Southern California is Gordon C Oglesby, seaman, USN, of Route 3, Madison, Fl., serving aboard the auxiliary motor minesweeper USS Crew. Legislature in brief: Received proposed constitutional amendment to charge Game and Fresh Water Fish Commission to give it jurisdiction over salt water fishing.

May 14, 1954
Miss Mildred Register was among the graduation seniors at FSU entertained at breakfast Sunday morning, May 16, at Cherokee Hotel by Dr. and Mrs. H J Vogt. Dr. Vogt is professor of Insurance and Real Estate in FSU Business School. Madison FFA Sweetheart Miss Nencie Bevan took first honors at the district meet in Monticello Friday, May 7. She will compete with five other girls at Daytona Beach next month for the State Sweetheart contest. “I respectfully announce that I am a candidate for County Commissioner, District No. 2 Madison County, Fl., subject to the Democratic primaries of May, 1954. If elected to this position, I promise to give diligent, conscientious service to all the people of Madison County. I earnestly and sincerely solicit your vote and suppose.” Very sincerely yours, Wiley Blair. The Madison Bank Parents met May 3 in the Bank Room and elected the following officers for the coming year: James Sale, president; Mrs. Fred Mickler, vice-president; Mrs. Hyem Kramer, secretary/treasurer.

Share this:

Related posts

error: right click disabled!!