The Election Results Are In

Madison County has 11,527 registered voters and 2,977 ballots were cast in the Primary Elections. In the election, votes were cast for School Board District 1 and 3, County Commissioner District 4, Governor, Attorney General and U.S. Representative in Congress District 3. 

For School Board District 1, there will be a run-off in the General Elections between Terrence Lamont Boatman and Susie Bishop Williamson, who both did not receive the required 50 percent for a winner to be declared. Ve’Etta L. Hagan won the election for School Board District 3, with 55.3 percent of the votes over Surretta Lee Bell, who received 44.7 percent. Alfred Martin won the County Commissioner District 4 with 64.06 percent of the votes over opponent Howard B. Pickels, who received 35.94 percent.

Rick Scott won the Governor’s seat in the Republican Primary and will face Charlie Crist, who won for the Democratic Party, in the General Elections in November. Scott received 87.65 percent of the votes while opponents Elizabeth Cuevas-Neunder and Yinka Abosede Adeshina received 10.58 and 1.78 percent, respectively. Crist received 74.37 percent of the Democratic votes, while his opponent, Nan H. Rich received 25.63 percent. At the Madison County elections Scott and Crist were the winners.

George Sheldon won the election for Attorney General in the Democratic Primary with 60.66 percent of the votes against Perry Thurston, who received 39.33 percent. Sheldon will now face incumbent Pam Bondi in the General Elections. Bondi ran unopposed for the Republican Party. At the Madison County elections Sheldon was the winner.

Ted Yoho won the election for the Republican Primary against Jake Rush with 79.38 percent of the votes over 20.62 percent. Yoho will face Democratic candidate Marihelen Wheeler and Howard Lawson, who is running with no party affiliation, in the General Election. At the Madison County elections, Yoho was the winner.

Share Button
Jessie Box

Written by Jessie Box