In 2002, the Florida Move Over law was enacted in an effort to reduce the number of accidents caused by motorists against law enforcement officers, first responders, emergency officials and others who are injured or killed during stops on Florida highways and roads. In July of 2014, the Move Over law was expanded to include sanitation and utility vehicles.
The Move Over law requires vehicles to move over for emergency vehicles, utility service vehicles or wreckers.
In a multi-lane roadway, drivers must vacate the lane located closest to the stationary emergency vehicle, sanitation vehicle, utility service vehicle or wrecker and be sure to use their blinkers to indicate change of lanes. Drivers are also advised to reduce speeds to 20 mph below the speed limit if they cannot change lanes and be prepared to allow other vehicles to move over into the next lane.
In a two-lane roadway, drivers are advised to slow down to a speed of 20 mph below the posted speed limit and travel at five mph if the speed limit is 20 mph or below.
Those caught not following in compliance with the Move Over law could be penalized with a fine and have a total of three points added to their license. In addition, violation of this law puts others at risk.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) reminds everyone to move over; not only is it the safe thing to do, but it is also the law.