You are here
Farm & Outdoors 

Local Farm Bureau officials recognized during statewide meeting


Photo Submitted

Farm Bureau proudly recognized certain Florida counties for excellence in five categories; Legislative/Policy Implementation, Public Relation/Information, Organization & Management, Education/Agriculture Promotion, and Leadership Development. Our local counties were among those honored. Pictured as they hold their 2016 Florida Farm Bureau Presidents Award plaque are (left to right): Jefferson County Farm Bureau President, Ernest Fulford; Madison County Farm Bureau President, Jeffery Hamrick; Farm Bureau Agency Manager (for all four counties) Freddy Pitts; Lafayette County Farm Bureau President, Rod Land; and Taylor County Farm Bureau President, Billy Wayne Murphy. 

Story Submitted

This past week over 600 people from across the state traveled to Orlando to attend Florida Farm Bureau Federation’s 75th Annual Meeting.

During the three days of the meeting, delegates and attendees learned about the newly passed GMO legislation, private property rights, and the use of propane in agriculture. County Presidents attended a new revamped Council of Presidents this year as they discussed ways to improve their county Farm Bureaus and learned about new programs designed to help their members.

The meeting also included award and recognition programs to honor outstanding young farmers and ranchers, state lawmakers; and the accomplishments of county Farm Bureaus and individual members for their distinguished service to agriculture.  The big highlights for our local county was the distinguished Team Player Award presented to Freddy Pitts the Agency Manager for Jefferson, Lafayette, Madison and Taylor Counties; and the Legislator of the Year award being presented to our own Halsey Beshears, State Representative, District 7.

But, the most important occurrence to happen during the annual meeting was that delegates from across the state met to discuss the current and proposed policies of the Farm Bureau organization, as well as new by-law amendments that will direct these organizations, for years to come.

Share this:

Related posts