Letter To The Editor: Attention Voters Of Madison County

To the voters of Madison County: I would like to start off by thanking everyone for their love and support during the loss of our home due to a fire. The support the community has shown has been greatly appreciated. I would also like to thank my staff for all they have done.
With elections fast approaching, I would like to share some information.
The bulk of absentee ballots were mailed out July 22, and UOCAVA ballots were mailed out on July 11.
For those of you who are voting via absentee ballot, you can mark your ballot using a blue or black pen or a number 2 pencil, but you need to sign the back of the envelope with a blue or black pen.
Sample ballots will be mailed out either August 1st or August 4th.
Early voting dates are August 16-23. Saturday and Sunday will be from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. and Monday-Friday will be from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. The early voting sites are the Madison County Board Room Annex, Lee City Hall, Greenville Senior Citizens Building and Pinetta Volunteer Fire Department. Don’t forget that you can vote at any of these sites. It doesn’t matter where you live.
If you live in District 1 (Precinct 1) you will be voting for School Board. The candidates are Jeanne Bass, Terrence Lamont Boatman, Jay Lee and Susie Bishop Williamson.
District 2, your County Commissioner will be Wayne Vickers. He was unopposed.
District 3 (Precincts 2 and 5) has a School Board member to vote for. The candidates are Surretta Lee Bell and Ve’Etta Hagan.
District 4 (Precincts 4, 9, and 10) has County Commissioner on the ballot. The candidates are Alfred Martin and Howard B. Pickels. This is considered a Universal Primary Contest which means that every party will get to vote on these candidates because they are both members of the same party.
District 5, your School Board member will be Bart Alford. He was unopposed.
If you are a Democrat, you will have the Governor and Lieutenant Governor to vote for. The candidates are Charlie Crist and Nan H. Rich. Attorney General is also on the ballot and the candidates are George Sheldon and Perry E. Thurston.
If you are a Republican, you will also have Governor and Lieutenant Governor on the ballot. The candidates are Yinka Abosede Adeshina, Elizabeth Cuevas-Neunder, and Rick Scott. Also, Republicans in Congressional District 3, which includes Precincts 1B, 2,3,7B, 8, 10B, and 11, will have a United States Representative on the ballot. The candidates are Jake Rush and Ted Yoho.
Election Day is August 26 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. If you have any question please feel free to stop by the office or give us a call at 973-6507.
Tommy Hardee
Madison County Supervisor of Elections
Share Button

Written by Submitted