You are here
Community News 

Jay Johnson Memorial Golf Tournament a success

Ashley Hunter

Greene Publishing, Inc.

The Jay Johnson Memorial Golf Tournament was held on Saturday, June 25 at the Madison Country Club along with an accompanying silent auction in honor of the event's namesake, Jay Johnson.

During the tournament, a special lunch was served to the teams and golfers who participated in the event, which was a fundraiser hosted by James Madison Preparatory High School with plans to raise the needed funds to renovate the school's Chemistry and Biology labs.

The tournament attracted teams from Madison, as well as teams from Perry and Live Oak. Various businesses sponsored teams as well, such as J&J Transport, which sponsored the third place team; Madison County Community Bank, which sponsored the second place team, and Buckeye Community Federal Credit Union, which sponsored the first place team.

Each of the three winning teams received a cash prize, with first place receiving $300, second place receiving $200, and third place receiving $100.  $25 was also awarded to the longest drive, putt and to the player who scored closest to the pin.

The first place team's golfers were: Rob Hilley, Michael Sullivan, David Sullivan and Ryan Hagberg.

The second place team's golfers were: Jarrod Lauth, Brad Robinson, Matthew Browning and Andrew Hendry.

The third place team's golfers were: Doug Haskell, Brad Johnson, Brandon Goldman and Epp Richardson.

The Longest Drive award went to Nick Albritton.

The Longest Putt award went to Pocko Vause.

The Closest to the Pin award went to Garret King.


Photo Submitted

The team that was sponsored by Buckeye Community Federal Credit Union (BCFCU) was the first place winner during the Jay Johnson Memorial Golf tournament on Saturday, June 25. While the majority of the team left before pictures could be taken, BCFU associates stood in for them. Pictured, from left to right, are: Rob Hilley, BCFCU's Director of Marketing and Development; Roxanne Jackson, Madison Branch Manager; and Charlton Knowles, President of BCFCU.  The first place team won $300.

Share this:

Related posts