Florida’s minimum wage is set to increase on Jan. 1, 2015. The current minimum wage for Florida is $7.93. Minimum wage will increase 12 cents to $8.05. Tipped employees wage is $5.03 plus tips. This is an 80 cents increase compared to the $7.25 federal minimum wage.
As part of the Florida Minimum Wage Act that began in 2005, the Department of Economic Opportunity on Sept. 30 calculates an adjusted state minimum wage rate by increasing the state minimum wage by the rate of inflation for the twelve months prior to Sept. 1.
Any employee who has not received the lawful minimum wage after notifying his or her employer and giving the employer 15 days to resolve any claims for unpaid wages may bring a civil action in a court of law against an employer to recover back wages plus damages and attorney’s fees.