You are here

Commissioners sworn in and Mayor elected

At the special meeting called together by the City Commissioners on Tuesday, March 22, City Commissioners Jim Catron and Ina Thompson were once again sworn into their commission seats after winning the Tuesday, March 15 election.

Swearing in the commissioners was City Attorney Clay Schnitker.

Afterwards, the commission placed their vote on the election of a commissioner to take the position of mayor, as Thompson had previously held the seat but her administration period as city mayor had been completed.

It was a unanimous vote that moved Commissioner Catron into the position of Mayor of Madison.

Commissioner Thompson was awarded a plaque in honor of her services to the City of Madison.   

Commissioner Marcus Hawkins moved forward to take Mayor Catron’s former position as the Mayor Pro Tempore; if Mayor Catron is absent during a meeting, then Commissioner Hawkins may temporarily assume the responsibilities of mayor.

Share this:

Related posts

error: right click disabled!!