You are here

28 candidates seek local offices

Many qualified individuals have filed their name into entering the local Madison County and city elections for various government seats.  In total, 28 candidates are currently vying for the votes of Madison County citizens.

Running for Tax Collector, Lisa Tuten (Dem) is still unchallenged as the sole candidate for the position.

The position for Supervisor of Elections, currently held by Thomas (Tommy) Hardee (NPA), is again up for election.  Hardee is running for re-election against Jada Williams (NPA).

The title of Superintendent of Schools is a coveted one and will pose a difficult choice for Madison voters, with candidates such as Ben Killingsworth (Dem), Jeffrey Veilleux (NPA), Marcus Hawkins, Sr. (Dem) and Gwendolyn Hubbard (NPA) in the run for the seat.

Ben Stewart (NPA) is the sole contingent for the office of Madison County Sheriff.

Various School Board chairs are up for election. School Board Chair District 2 is being sought after by current chair holder, Kenneth (Kenny) Hall (Non Party) as well as Carol Gibson (Non Party).

School Board District 4 is up for election, with William “Billy” Tolar (Non Party), Reginald Daniels (Non Party), vying against incumbent Karen Pickles (Non Party).

The office of Property Appraiser is only hosting one candidate, incumbent Leigh Barfield (Dem).

County Commissioner Districts 5, 3 and 1 are all up for election.

In District 1, incumbent Commissioner Michael Justin Hamrick (Dem) is competing against Alston Kelley (Rep) and Marvin “Merv” Mattair (NPA) in winning the vote.

In District 3, incumbent Commissioner Ronnie Moore (Dem) is running for re-election while Craig Anderson (Dem) attempts to win the seat.

In District 5, Commissioner Rick Davis (Dem), who is running for re-election is up against Nancy Moral (Rep), Adrian Kinsey (NPA) and Michael Havard (Dem).   

The office of the Madison County Clerk of Court is being passed on to another, as current Clerk Tim Sanders will be retiring once his term ends.

Running for the office of Clerk of Court are qualified candidates William Washington (Rep), Nicholas Cody Tuten (NPA), Kel Putnel (Dem), Renetta Parrish (NPA) and Lessia Gray (NPA).

The deadline for inquiring persons to place their name on the roster of candidates has not yet been crossed, so the list of individuals running for various Madison County offices, seats, boards and commissions may expand as the month of May continues.

Share this:

Related posts

error: right click disabled!!